top of page

Rainforests and More Nonfiction

The four levels of Jolly Phonics Readers have been designed to give confidence and enjoyment to young readers so that they can develop independent reading skills and gradually move onto more complex texts. With three lively series in each level, the books enable children to practise phonic skills and develop their reading comprehension.

Rainforests and Other Stories contains six engaging nonfiction stories and provides text comprehension questions, discussion activities and guidance for parents. The text in the book uses only fully decodable regular words (words that are made up from the 42 letter sounds taught in the first stage of Jolly Phonics) and a small number of ‘tricky’ words (frequently used words that are not fully decodable at this stage). At every stage the words are within the reach of children as they use their letter sound knowledge and tricky words already taught. All the tricky words and letter sounds used in the book are shown on the front inside cover. Light type is used as a guide for any silent letters, such as /b/ in lamb.

Level 2 introduces the alternative sound of /y/ used for the /ee/ sound at the end of words like funny and happy.

Stories included in the book:

  • Rainforests
  • Cheese Stars
  • Oil
  • Lizards
  • Shells
  • Butterflies and Moths

Book Contents:

  • Say the Sounds
  • Tricky Words
  • Look Out for Me
  • Book Review
  • Character Review

*Rainforests and More Nonfiction is a paperback edition of the popular Jolly Phonics Readers, combining stories previously published as six individual books in the Level 2 Nonfiction series*

Jolly Phonics Decodable Level 2 Phonic Fantastic Facts

SKU: 9781844144235
    bottom of page