top of page

Star and Fish and More Nonfiction

The four levels of Jolly Phonics Readers have been designed to give confidence and enjoyment to young readers so that they can develop independent reading skills and gradually move onto more complex texts. With three lively series in each level, the books enable children to practise phonic skills and develop their reading comprehension.

Star and Fish and More Nonfiction contains six engaging nonfiction stories and provides text comprehension questions, discussion activities and guidance for parents. The text in the book uses only fully decodable regular words (words that are made up from the 42 letter sounds taught in the first stage of Jolly Phonics) and a small number of ‘tricky’ words (frequently used words that are not fully decodable at this stage). At every stage the words are within the reach of children as they use their letter sound knowledge and tricky words already taught. All the tricky words and letter sounds used in the book are shown on the front inside cover. Light type is used as a guide for any silent letters, such as /b/ in lamb.


Stories included in the book:

  • Star and Fish
  • A Dog Has Pups
  • A Shoal of Fish
  • Slugs and Snails
  • Foxes
  • Insects

Book Contents:

  • Say the Sounds
  • Tricky Words
  • Look Out for Me
  • Book Review
  • Topic Review

*Star and Fish and More Nonfiction is a paperback edition of the popular Jolly Phonics Readers, combining stories previously published as six individual books in the Level 1 Nonfiction series*

Jolly Phonics Decodable readers Level 1 Phonics Fantastic Facts

SKU: 9781844144204
    bottom of page